Eating Disorder Peer Support Groups

ANAD pioneered the eating disorder peer support group more than 45 years ago, and today we are the largest peer support resource for eating disorders in the country. ANAD’s eating disorder support groups provide a free, virtual space where people can come together and find community in recovery. This community fills a gap in care, providing an accessible space for those who are struggling. 

Join a Support Group

How can support groups help me?

Support groups are often a first step for people who struggle with their body image and/or eating disorders, those who are committed to continuing their recovery, and everyone in between. Groups provide a space where everyone in the room has a common experience. Many people have never met anyone else with an eating disorder, or someone who has recovered. Getting to meet those people, share feelings and experiences, and not have to explain themselves to those around them can be a powerful catalyst for healing.

Our support groups are led by trained volunteers who have recovered from their own eating disorder, or volunteer professionals in the eating disorder field. Support groups are open to anyone, at any stage of their recovery journey. They are not a replacement for therapy, but serve as a complement. Support groups play an important and unique role in the recovery process, and we invite you to join us and find out for yourself.

ANAD Peer Support Group Features

  • Meet weekly for 75 minutes on Zoom
  • Capped at 20 participants on first-come, first-serve basis*
  • Led by trained volunteers with lived experience of eating disorder recovery

* Registrants to each group will be sent a weekly reminder with a Zoom link. Feel free to attend the same meeting each week!

How to Attend

  1. Choose your group
  2. Register
  3. Receive confirmation
  4. Attend
Join a Support Group

Support Group Schedule

  • LGBTQ+ Eating Disorder Support Group – Monday at 5pm EST / 2pm PST
  • General Eating Disorder Support Group – Monday at 6pm EST / 3pm PST
  • General Eating Disorder Support Group – Monday at 8pm EST / 5pm PST
  • Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) Support Group – Monday at 8pm EST / 5pm PST
  • General Eating Disorder Support Group – Tuesday at 12pm EST / 9am PST
  • Older Adults Support Group – Tuesday at 1pm EST / 10am PST  
  • Adolescents/Teens Support Group – Tuesday at 7pm EST / 4pm PST
  • General Eating Disorder Support Group – Tuesday at 9pm EST / 6pm PST
  • General Eating Disorder Support Group – Wednesday at 6pm EST / 3pm PST
  • People in Larger Bodies Support Group – Wednesday at 7pm EST / 4pm PST
  • General Eating Disorder Support Group – Wednesday at 8pm EST/5pm PST

ANAD Affiliate Groups

ANAD Affiliate Group are led by mental health professionals affiliated with ANAD. Affiliate groups have their own schedules. Please consult the spreadsheet for contact info to learn current status.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are support groups free?

Yes! All support groups are free. However, ANAD is a donation-based community organization, so we do rely on donations from anyone involved in our services. Donate what you can, when you can!

Who joins support groups?

Support groups are open to anyone. The people who attend are of all ages, races, genders, and experiences. Some people are currently in treatment, others may only be starting to realize that they have a problem. No matter where someone is on their journey, they are welcome.

What happens in a group?

ANAD Peer Support Groups have roughly the same format for each group. They are 75 minutes long, meet weekly, are kept small to allow for everyone’s participation, and use communication guidelines for a safe space. ANAD Affiliate Groups, which are run by clinical professionals at different organizations, have different formats, but often involve a check in & discussion. Members can draw on the support and experience of others.

Are groups confidential?

Yes, groups are confidential. While we do encourage video usage, especially when speaking, it is not required in order to participate. We also include a statement at the beginning of each group asking people to respect the confidentiality of the group.

Do I need to be 18 to participate?

Yes, you need to be at least 18 to participate in ANAD peer support groups, with the exception of our Adolescent/Teens support group.

What are the rules?

We have rules in place to maintain the safety of the group and well being of participants. Should you join us, you will have the opportunity to learn them.

How do I join a group?

Zoom links will be sent out ahead of each group. Please click on the link prior to the start time of your meeting. We recommend up to 10 minutes in advance and this will help ensure that you get a spot for that day.

The group I want to join is full, what should I do?

Please try again next week. If you’re still not getting in, feel free to contact us about it.

Your support makes a difference.

ANAD is a donation-based recovery community. We believe eating disorder support should be affordable and accessible to all. To continue offering our services for free to those who need it, we rely on donations from those who can afford them. Please consider supporting our mission.

ANAD Silver Partners